top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Between the Bookends

Sarah Dessen: Finally From Print to Netflix

O-M-G!! I'm freaking out guys...its been 5 days and I still haven't completely processed the fact that Sarah Dessen is getting not one, not two, but THREE - count 'em THREE - movie adaptions from Netflix. Along for the Ride, This Lullaby and Once and for All make up the trio of titles chosen. Can I just say that it's taken long enough??


Although this is not the first time she has gotten a movie adaption of her work, it is the first time it will be set solely based not the book and not a mash-up. How to Deal starring Mandy Moore, Allison Janney, Dylan Baker, Peter Gallagher and Trent Ford came out in 2003 and was based off of Someone Like You and That Summer. Sadly enough I have not yet seen the movie just yet because I LOVE Someone Like You so much that I'm nervous it will not live up to it. But in the spirit of these new movies being made, I'll take the leap!


I began reading Sarah Dessen books when I was in high school and new her writing was meant for even bigger things, she is one of the most underrated authors out there. If you haven't taken the opportunity to pick up one of her many master pieces, please head to your closest library, bookstore, or wherever you get your books.


Honestly, it's hard to choose a favorite or even rank the books from her catalog...but if I must, here are my Top 3:

  1. The Truth About Forever (2006)

  2. Saint Anything (2016)

  3. Someone Like You (2004)


Of course you have to read the rest of masterpieces too, so here's the Sarah Dessen Shopping List:

  • The Rest of the Story (2019)

  • Once and for All (2018)

  • The Moon and More (2015)

  • What Happened to Goodbye (2013)

  • Along for the Ride (2011)

  • Lock & Key (2009)

  • Just Listen (2008)

  • This Lullaby (2004)

  • Dreamland (2004)

  • Keeping the Moon (2004)

  • That Summer (2004)

I personally want to see my three favorite books in stand alone movies (considering Someone Like You was part of a mash up when it was adapted) - HINT HINT Netflix. What Sarah Dessen books have you read? Are you excited for these movies?

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page