top of page
  • Writer's pictureLife Between the Bookends

Stay with Me by Nicole Fiorina


 

Age: 18+

Plot Development: A++

Character Development: A++


“Defending actions with words could only get one so far because mouths weren't created to be used as weapons, and not all battles were meant to be fought”
 

In the spirit of being 10000% honest...when I began this book I had no idea where it was going. Yes, I could have read the book jacket or other reviews online but there's a rush you get when you don't. I really thought I wasn't going to like this book, turns out I was right...CAUSE I FREAKING LOVED IT!!


Mia is not your everyday female protagonist and this is not your typical sappy love story. She has issues like MAJOR ISSUES. However her strategic approach to communication is one of the things I loved about her. I learned stuff from her I didn't learn in college as a Communication major:


"I once read a study regarding the different levels or eye contact. There are nine levels by the way."
"His gaze fixated on me, somehow holding all my attention now. Level five. Those fierce green eyes held a degree of gravity, weighing me down and lifting me off my feet at the same time. He grinned - level six - and I shook my head at his arrogance. Am I smiling? Oh, Jesus, I'm smiling"

Seriously one of the best inner monologues ever.


Anyways, personally when it comes to romantic relationships I'm extremely cautious cause of exes past, and when I say extremely cautious....I mean picky AF! There are sometimes I feel a little desensitized in the emotions department and as I began reading this I could relate a little (except for the whole psych ward/juvie thing). However, after a while I realized it is two completely different situations and I'm more than happy with mine. Nicole Fiorina's ability to create these convoluted backstories, intense characters and crazed plot twists is MIND BLOWING!!


I absolutely cannot wait to see what happens in Even When I'm Gone which will give me (hopefully) the much needed closure or the ability to be okay with the messed up cliff hanger I was left on.....seriously I'm dangling here!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page